Washington University Department of Computer Science and Engineering
Tennis Tournament
Spring 2004

Congratulations to Chris Hill, the 2004 CSE tennis tournament champion!


  • (30 April)  Chris Hill won the tennis tournament with an exciting 9-8 (7-4) win over Ben Brodie this morning.  Thanks to all tournament participants for their efforts and fair play.
  • (29 April)  The final, Ben Brodie v. Chris Hill, is scheduled for 10:00 a.m. tomorrow.
  • (26 April)  Ben Brodie beat Christine Julien 8-3 this morning.  Ben will meet Chris Hill in an all-DOC-Group final at a time to be announced.
  • (21 April)  Chris Hill beat Robert Pless 9-7 this morning in an epic semifinal match.  Ben Brodie and Christine Julien are scheduled to play tomorrow at 2:30 if weather permits.
  • (20 April)  Ben Brodie has finished first in group A and will face Christine Julien in the semifinals; Robert Pless will face Chris Hill.  Semifinal matches should be played as soon as possible.
  • (19 April)  Robert Pless has clinched a spot in the playoffs.  The other group A spot is wide open.
  • (18 April)  Christine Julien has come in second in group B and will face the first-place player in group A in the playoffs.  Thanks to group B for finishing every round-robin match!
  • (16 April)  Chris Hill has clinched first place in group B.  Dave Schuehler must beat Liang Fok 8-0 to claim second place; otherwise, Christine Julien will make the playoffs.  Group A is still up for grabs.
  • (5 April)  Deadline announced: Monday, 19 April, is the last day to play and report a round-robin match.
  • (3 April)  Mark Franklin has withdrawn from the tournament due to injury.
  • (29 March)  The round-robin stage has begun.  Please see below for your matchups.

The tennis tournament has a format similar to the chess tournament:  There are two round-robin groups, to which entrants were randomly assigned.  Each pair of players in a group are asked to play one match.  The winner of a match is responsible for reporting the result and the match score (such as 8-4) to me.  Ten points will be awarded for a win and one point for a loss; no points will be awarded if a match is not played (unless one player simply refuses to play and thus forfeits).  (The hope is that the one point for a loss will encourage play even when one player is pessimistic.)  The two players with the most points from each group will move on to a single-elimination tournament; the first-place player in group A will play the second-place player in group B and the second-place player in group A will play the first-place player in group B.  The winners of those two semifinal matches will meet in the final.

If two players tie on points at the end of the round-robin stage, the tie will be broken by comparing games won minus games lost, then tiebreaker points won minus tiebreaker points lost, then head-to-head results, then a coin flip.

Players are responsible for providing equipment (rackets and balls) and finding and reserving a tennis court.  Call 935-4619 to make court reservations at the Tao Tennis Center on campus.

Round-robin group A Round-robin group B

Match rules:

  1. Each match will consist of a single pro set:  The first player to win 8 (NB: not 6) games wins the match.
  2. The match must be won by 2 games:  8-3 is a win, 8-6 is a win and 9-7 is a win.
  3. Service alternates each game.  Service of the first game can be decided by spinning a racket (or flipping a coin).
  4. If 8-8 is reached, a tiebreaker to 7 points must be played.  The tiebreaker must be won by 2 points:  7-2 is a win, 7-5 is a win, 8-6 is a win, 21-19 is a win, etc.
  5. In a tiebreaker, service alternates after each odd-numbered point, so one player serves the first point, the other player serves the next two points, etc.  Service of the first point can be decided by the player who lost the pre-match racket spin.
  6. If play is interrupted for reasons beyond the players' control, the match should be resumed later at the same point.
  7. The reported match score should include the tiebreaker score (if applicable), like 9-8 (7-4).

Group A matches
Player 1 points earned match score points earned Player 2
Ben Brodie 10 forfeit 0 Mark Franklin
Sally Goldman 1 3-8 10 Robert Pless
Stella Sung 1 2-8 10 Ben Brodie
Mark Franklin 0 forfeit 10 Sally Goldman
Robert Pless 0 unplayed 0 Stella Sung
Ben Brodie 10 9-7 1 Sally Goldman
Stella Sung 10 forfeit 0 Mark Franklin
Robert Pless 10 8-1 1 Ben Brodie
Sally Goldman 10 8-0 1 Stella Sung
Mark Franklin 0 forfeit 10 Robert Pless

Group A points table
wins losses points games
tiebreaker points
Ben Brodie 3 1 31 18/17 0/0
Robert Pless 3 0 30 16/4 0/0
Sally Goldman 2 2 22 18/17 0/0
Stella Sung 1 2 12 2/16 0/0
Mark Franklin 0 4 0 0/0 0/0

Group B matches
Player 1 points earned match score points earned Player 2
Liang Fok 1 2-8 10 Chris Hill
Christine Julien 1 8-9 (6-8) 10 Shannon Lieberg
Dave Schuehler 10 8-3 1 Liang Fok
Chris Hill 10 8-1 1 Christine Julien
Shannon Lieberg 1 7-9 10 Dave Schuehler
Liang Fok 1 1-8 10 Christine Julien
Dave Schuehler 1 3-8 10 Chris Hill
Shannon Lieberg 10 8-3 1 Liang Fok
Christine Julien 10 8-6 1 Dave Schuehler
Chris Hill 10 8-0 1 Shannon Lieberg

Group B points table
wins losses points games
tiebreaker points
Chris Hill 4 0 40 32/6 0/0
Christine Julien 2 2 22 25/24 6/8
Dave Schuehler 2 2 22 26/26 0/0
Shannon Lieberg 2 2 22 24/28 8/6
Liang Fok 0 4 4 9/32 0/0

1st-placer in group A:
Ben Brodie
Playoff match 1:
Ben Brodie
Christine Julien
Championship match:
Chris Hill
Ben Brodie
9-8 (7-4)
2nd-placer in group B:
Christine Julien
1st-placer in group B:
Chris Hill
Playoff match 2:
Chris Hill
Robert Pless
2nd-placer in group A:
Robert Pless

Match results are current as of 30 April 2004.  Please e-mail Rob LeGrand at with any questions or problems.